Well, Smell My Pits!

pits1

Purposeful living to me means making more time for myself and family by doing things from scratch.  This saves money and allows me to limit my family’s exposure to unnecessary chemicals.  I’ve been using the aluminum-free, “hippie” deodorants for the past 10 years. But the cost of natural convenience has skyrocketed. I fully believe and support local businesses whenever possible, but I have to draw the line at $11.50 per stick.  So I’ve been stashing our used, empty deodorant applicators, so that I could fill them with homemade concoction. I did my research, looked at many different recipes and created one of my own.

pits2

The ingredients are simple:

  •  Baking soda- The baking soda absorbs moisture
  •  Starch- Helps harden and bind the mixture you can use (Corn Starch, Tapioca Starch or Arrow Root).
  •  Coconut oil-The ingredient that allows everything to mix together and offers anti-microbial properties.
  • Beeswax- Acts as a binder to ensure the stick won’t melt in warmer weather.
  •  Essential oil that kills bacteria- This is what will kill the stink. You can use Tea Tree, Lavender, Lemongrass, Thyme, or Geranium essential oils.
  •  Essential oil for the fragrance- Whatever you want to smell like for the next few months.
  •  1 empty and clean deodorant stick applicator.
  •  Newspaper/Parchment: To cover your working area. Beeswax is difficult to clean up once it dries.

Recipe: ( Beginner Level, Easy)

  •  ¼ cup baking soda
  •  ¼ cup Tapioca starch
  •  3 T coconut oil
  •  1T Bees Wax
  •  5 Drops Tea Tree oil
  •  5 Drops Nag Champa

Method:

  •  Clean and dry applicator bottle, make sure you put it back together making sure the inside plunger is in the farthest down position.
  •  Combine Coconut oil and Bees Wax in a microwave safe container heat until melted.
  •  In another bowl mix the dry ingredients.
  •  Add your essential oils to the melted  coconut oil/bees wax mixture.
  •  Combine your oil with dry ingredients using a whisk to mix quickly.
  •  Once mixture is combined work quickly to pour into empty deodorant container. If mixture sets up before you can get it into the applicator you can put it in manually but use a knife to work around the stick to release air bubbles.
  •  DO NOT OVER FILL! If you over fill you can’t get the cap off.
  •  Let it cure for 24 hours before use.

Ratings: I thought this recipe was really easy and fun. I am really satisfied with the results, stink factor and budget friendly at $1.97/stick a cost savings of $9.53 from my last purchase of Pit Paste at the health food store.

pits7

Leave a Reply

